Award eligibility criteria released

Racing Victoria (RV) has today released criteria on the eligibility of licensed or registered persons to win any Victorian thoroughbred racing awards.

With immediate effect, the following criteria will apply:

1. A licensed or registered person is ineligible to win any premiership, medal, or award in Victoria for any racing year if that person:

a) engages in conduct that results in a disqualification or warning off from racing for any period of time; or

b) serves any period of a disqualification or warning off, regardless of when the offending conduct occurred; or

c) engages in conduct that results in a suspension of their licence or registration (or any privilege attached to their licence or registration) for a period of two months or more.

2. RV also retains full discretion to revoke any premiership, medal or award which has been won for any particular racing year if the winning person:

a) is subsequently deemed to be ineligible pursuant to clause 1; or

b) has otherwise, in the opinion of RV, conducted themselves in a manner which has undermined the integrity, reputation or public image of racing.

RV Executive General Manager – Integrity Services, Jamie Stier, said: “It was determined that we needed a uniform approach around the eligibility for persons that are suspended or disqualified to win premierships and annual awards.

“We reached a position that a licensed or registered person who commits a serious breach of the Rules of Racing should not be celebrated and we will enforce the criteria with immediate effect.”

Under the criteria and among others, disqualified trainer Darren Weir is ineligible for the 2018-19 Victorian and Metropolitan Trainers Premierships and 2019 Fred Hoysted Medal, while disqualified jumps jockey Martin Kelly is ineligible for the 2019 Tommy Corrigan Medal.