Prize Money Payments

UPDATE: From Tuesday 7 June, 2016 you may notice a change in the layout and appearance of your Remittance/ Recipient Created Tax Advice for prize money.

Due to Privacy Legislation, RV will no longer show other owner’s financial information on your remittance advice, instead it will show just your earnings and any deductions equal to your percentage share. The net amount paid to your nominated bank account will also be highlighted. A separate grid will show the total amount due for the ownership. The new changes apply only to ownerships where prize money is split- manager type payments will continue to use the existing format. If you have any queries on the new layout please contact Customer First on 9258 4258.

2019 Payment Dates

Owner Stakes Payment Dates 2019 Payment Dates
Batch      Main Pay Date-Monies
                Available following day
Cleared Swabs Pay Date
Monies Available
following day
Race Meetings Covered
513 Wednesday, January 23,2019 Tuesday, February 12, 2019
14th- 20th January 2019

514 Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
 21st- 27th January 2019

515 Tuesday, February 5, 2019  Tuesday, February 26, 2019

 28th- 31st January 2019

516 Wednesday, February 6, 2019  Tuesday, February 26, 2019

 1st-3rd February 2019

517 Wednesday, February 13, 2019  Tuesday, March 5, 2019

 4th-10th February 2019

518 Wednesday, February 20, 2019  Tuesday, March 12, 2019

 11th-17th February 2019

519 Wednesday, February 27, 2019  Tuesday, March 19, 2019

 18th-24th February 2019

520 Tuesday, March 5, 2019  Tuesday, March 26, 2019

 25th-28th February 2019

521 Wednesday, March 6, 2019  Tuesday, March 26, 2019

 1st-3rd March 2019

522 Wednesday, March 13, 2019  Tuesday, April 2, 2019

 4th-10th March 2019

523 Wednesday, March 20, 2019  Tuesday, April 9, 2019

 11th-17th March 2019

524 Wednesday, March 27, 2019  Tuesday, April 16, 2019

 18th-24th March 2019

525 Wednesday, April 3, 2019  Tuesday, April 23, 2019

 25th-31st March 2019

526 Wednesday, April 10, 2019  Tuesday, April 30, 2019

 1st-7th April 2019

527 Wednesday, April 17, 2019  Tuesday, May 7, 2019

 8th-14th April 2019

528 Wednesday, April 24, 2019  Tuesday, May 14, 2019

 15th-21st April 2019

529 Wednesday, May 1, 2019  Tuesday, May 21, 2019

 22nd-28th April 2019

530 Monday, May 6, 2019  Tuesday, May 28, 2019

 29th-30th April 2019

531 Wednesday, May 8, 2019  Tuesday, May 28, 2019

 1st-5th May 2019

532 Wednesday, May 15, 2019  Tuesday, June 4, 2019

 6th-12th May 2019

533 Wednesday, May 22, 2019  Tuesday, June 11, 2019

 13th-19th May 2019

534 Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019

20th-26th May 2019

535 Wednesday, June 5, 2019  Tuesday, June 25, 2019  27th-31st May 2019
Group and Listed Races - Acceptance Fees
Racing Victoria Limited charges an ‘Acceptance fee’ for all acceptors in Group and Listed races.

The fee ranges between 0.5% to 1% of the value of the race plus Goods and Services Tax (GST).

Example:
Type Group 3
Race Value $150,000
19 Acceptances (16 final starters and 3 scratchings)
Acceptance fee =
0.75% of 150,000 = 1125 +112.50 GST = $1237.50
The amount of $1237.50 will be charged to the owner(s) of each runner.

For horses that finish in the first 8 race positions, the $1237.50 Acceptance fee will be deducted from the prizemoney total.

For horses that finish 9 to last, the $1237.50 will be charged via an invoice to the Managing Owner.

Fees for horses that are scratched from a Group or Listed Race

Should the scratching be accompanied by a veterinary certificate, the acceptance fee charge will be removed (i.e. there is no charge for this type of scratching).  However, if the horse is scratched without a veterinary certificate then a scratching fee equal to the Acceptance fee will be charged to the Trainer’s account, for example a $1237.50 scratching fee.
Information for Owners - Access Fee
What is the fee?

The charge is classified as an Access Fee. Access fees have been in place at most Victorian training venues for a number of years. 

The purpose of the fee is to ensure clubs can maintain their training tracks and re-invest back into training facilities through new projects and initiatives for the betterment of the club’s trainers, participants and owners.

Where does the money go?

Funds derived from the new Access Fees will be invested back into the facilities at your training venue.

How much is the fee?

• Racing Victoria on behalf of the Club will charge owners directly for the Access Fee.
• Racing Victoria on behalf of the Club will deduct the access fee off prizemoney earned for every starter
• No charge will be payable for horses that don’t earn prizemoney (>10 at professional meetings, or finish >8 at picnics)
• No charge will be payable for horses until they race and earn prizemoney (other venues charge their Access Fee every day the horse uses the facility, even if it doesn’t race for the campaign)

Is there a maximum charge per month?

There is not a maximum charge per month. The charge will depend on how many times a horse starts per month, and if that horse earned prizemoney.

Background Information

In consultation with Racing Victoria this is the first time the Access Fee has been charged through the stakes system. The fee is normally charged to the trainer, and the trainer will most definitely pass on the cost to the owner, either incorporated in the training fees, or as a separate item, ‘track access fee’ or ‘track maintenance fee’.  

It should be noted that both the ATA and TROA were consulted as part of the process.

For further information please contact: Owners Customer Service  1300 139 412
Update your Banking Details
Click here to update your Banking Details.
Please note
*Swab pay dates subject to late changes during carnival periods. Only cleared swabs paid on these dates.

T: 03 9258 4258

E: stakespayment@racingvictoria.net.au
  • Prize money will be paid each Thursday with funds available for participants on Friday mornings.
  • Payment will be made for prize money earned from Monday to Sunday in the week prior;
  • Earnings on Monday 1st to Sunday 7th = Paid on Thursday 11th
  • Earnings on Monday 8th to Sunday  15th = Paid on Thursday 18th
  • Meetings within the weekly payment cycle may vary for dates bordering the month’s end 
  • Prize money earned in races less than $100,000 will not be held pending swab clearance