Prize Money Payments

UPDATE: From Tuesday 7 June, 2016 you may notice a change in the layout and appearance of your Remittance/ Recipient Created Tax Advice for prize money.

Due to Privacy Legislation, RV will no longer show other owner’s financial information on your remittance advice, instead it will show just your earnings and any deductions equal to your percentage share. The net amount paid to your nominated bank account will also be highlighted. A separate grid will show the total amount due for the ownership. The new changes apply only to ownerships where prize money is split- manager type payments will continue to use the existing format. If you have any queries on the new layout please contact Customer First on 9258 4258.

2018 Payment Dates

Owner Stakes Payment Dates 2018 Payment Dates
Batch Main Pay Date-Monies
Available following day
Cleared Swabs Pay Date
Monies Available
following day
Race Meetings Covered
490
Friday, September 7, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
1st-2nd September 2018
491 Wednesday, September 12, 2018 Tuesday, October 9, 2018 3rd-9th September 2018
492 Wednesday, September 19, 2018 Tuesday, October 16, 2018 10th-16th September 2018
493 Wednesday, September 26, 2018 Tuesday, October 23, 2018 17th- 23rd September 2018
494 Wednesday, October 3, 2018 Tuesday, October 30, 2018 24th-30th September 2018
495 Wednesday, October 10, 2018 Tuesday, November 6, 2018 1st-7th October 2018
496 Wednesday, October 17, 2018 Tuesday, November 13, 2018 8th-14th October 2018
497 Wednesday, October 24, 2018 Tuesday, November 13, 2018 15th-21st October 2018
498 Wednesday, October 31, 2018 Tuesday, November 20, 2018 22nd-28th October 2018
499 Monday, November 5, 2018 Tuesday, November 27, 2018 29th-31st October 2018
500 Thursday, November 8, 2018 Tuesday, December 4, 2018 1st-4th November 2018
501 Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Tuesday, December 11, 2018 5th-11th November 2018
502 Wednesday, November 21, 2018 Tuesday, December 11, 2018 12th-18th November 2018
503 Wednesday, November 28, 2018 Tuesday, December 18, 2018 19th-25th November 2018
504 Wednesday, December 5, 2018 Tuesday, December 18, 2018 26th-30th November 2018
505 Friday, December 7, 2018 Monday, December 24, 2018 1st-2nd December 2018
506 Wednesday, December 12, 2018 Tuesday, January 8, 2019 3rd-9th December 2018
507 Wednesday, December 19, 2018 Tuesday, January 15, 2019 10th-16th December 2018
508 Friday, December 28, 2018 Tuesday, January 15, 2019 17th- 23rd December 2018
509 Friday, January 4, 2019 Tuesday, January 22, 2019 24th-31st December 2018
Group and Listed Races - Acceptance Fees
Racing Victoria Limited charges an ‘Acceptance fee’ for all acceptors in Group and Listed races.

The fee ranges between 0.5% to 1% of the value of the race plus Goods and Services Tax (GST).

Example:
Type Group 3
Race Value $150,000
19 Acceptances (16 final starters and 3 scratchings)
Acceptance fee =
0.75% of 150,000 = 1125 +112.50 GST = $1237.50
The amount of $1237.50 will be charged to the owner(s) of each runner.

For horses that finish in the first 8 race positions, the $1237.50 Acceptance fee will be deducted from the prizemoney total.

For horses that finish 9 to last, the $1237.50 will be charged via an invoice to the Managing Owner.

Fees for horses that are scratched from a Group or Listed Race

Should the scratching be accompanied by a veterinary certificate, the acceptance fee charge will be removed (i.e. there is no charge for this type of scratching).  However, if the horse is scratched without a veterinary certificate then a scratching fee equal to the Acceptance fee will be charged to the Trainer’s account, for example a $1237.50 scratching fee.
Information for Owners - Access Fee
What is the fee?

The charge is classified as an Access Fee. Access fees have been in place at most Victorian training venues for a number of years. 

The purpose of the fee is to ensure clubs can maintain their training tracks and re-invest back into training facilities through new projects and initiatives for the betterment of the club’s trainers, participants and owners.

Where does the money go?

Funds derived from the new Access Fees will be invested back into the facilities at your training venue.

How much is the fee?

• Racing Victoria on behalf of the Club will charge owners directly for the Access Fee.
• Racing Victoria on behalf of the Club will deduct the access fee off prizemoney earned for every starter
• No charge will be payable for horses that don’t earn prizemoney (>10 at professional meetings, or finish >8 at picnics)
• No charge will be payable for horses until they race and earn prizemoney (other venues charge their Access Fee every day the horse uses the facility, even if it doesn’t race for the campaign)

Is there a maximum charge per month?

There is not a maximum charge per month. The charge will depend on how many times a horse starts per month, and if that horse earned prizemoney.

Background Information

In consultation with Racing Victoria this is the first time the Access Fee has been charged through the stakes system. The fee is normally charged to the trainer, and the trainer will most definitely pass on the cost to the owner, either incorporated in the training fees, or as a separate item, ‘track access fee’ or ‘track maintenance fee’.  

It should be noted that both the ATA and TROA were consulted as part of the process.

For further information please contact: Owners Customer Service  1300 139 412
Update your Banking Details
Click here to update your Banking Details.
Please note
*Swab pay dates subject to late changes during carnival periods. Only cleared swabs paid on these dates.

T: 03 9258 4258

E: stakespayment@racingvictoria.net.au
  • Prize money will be paid each Thursday with funds available for participants on Friday mornings.
  • Payment will be made for prize money earned from Monday to Sunday in the week prior;
  • Earnings on Monday 1st to Sunday 7th = Paid on Thursday 11th
  • Earnings on Monday 8th to Sunday  15th = Paid on Thursday 18th
  • Meetings within the weekly payment cycle may vary for dates bordering the month’s end 
  • Prize money earned in races less than $100,000 will not be held pending swab clearance