Prize Money Payments

UPDATE: From Tuesday 7 June, 2016 you may notice a change in the layout and appearance of your Remittance/ Recipient Created Tax Advice for prize money.

Due to Privacy Legislation, RV will no longer show other owner’s financial information on your remittance advice, instead it will show just your earnings and any deductions equal to your percentage share. The net amount paid to your nominated bank account will also be highlighted. A separate grid will show the total amount due for the ownership. The new changes apply only to ownerships where prize money is split- manager type payments will continue to use the existing format. If you have any queries on the new layout please contact Customer First on 9258 4258.

2020-21 Payment Dates

  Owner Stakes Payment Dates 2020 Payment Dates  
Batch Main Pay Date-Monies Available following day $140,000+ Races Cleared Swabs Only - Pay Dates Race Meetings Covered
609 Wednesday, 19 August 2020 Tuesday, 15 September 2020 10th-16th August
610 Wednesday, 26 August 2020 Tuesday, 22 September 2020 17th-23rd August
611 Wednesday, 2 September 2020 Tuesday, 29 September 2020 24th-30th August
612 Friday, 4 September 2020 Tuesday, 29 September 2020 31st August
613 Wednesday, 9 September 2020 Tuesday, 6 October 2020 1st-6th September
614 Wednesday, 16 September 2020 Tuesday, 13 October 2020 7th-13th September
615 Wednesday, 23 September 2020 Tuesday, 20 October 2020 14th-20th September 
616 Wednesday, 30 September 2020 Tuesday, 27 October 2020 21st-27th September
617 Tuesday, 6 October 2020 Tuesday, 3 November 2020 28th-30th September
618 Wednesday, 7 October 2020 Tuesday, 10 November 2020 1st-4th October 
619 Wednesday, 14 October 2020 Tuesday, 17 November 2020 5th-11th October
620 Wednesday, 21 October 2020 Tuesday, 24 November 2020 12th-18th October
621 Wednesday, 28 October 2020 Tuesday, 1 December 2020 19th-25th October
622 Wednesday, 4 November 2020 Tuesday, 8 December 2020 26th-31st October
623 Wednesday, 11 November 2020 Tuesday, 15 December 2020 1st-8th November
624 Wednesday, 18 November 2020 Tuesday, 22 December 2020 9th-15th November
625 Wednesday, 25 November 2020 Tuesday, 22 December 2020 16th-22nd November
626 Wednesday, 2 December 2020 Tuesday, 5 January 2021 23rd-29th November
627 Friday, 4 December 2020 Tuesday, 12 January 2021 30th November
628 Wednesday, 9 December 2020 Tuesday, 19 January 2021 1st-6th December 
629 Wednesday, 16 December 2020 Tuesday, 19 January 2021 7th-13th December 
Group and Listed Races - Acceptance Fees
Racing Victoria Limited charges an ‘Acceptance fee’ for all acceptors in Group and Listed races.

The fee ranges between 0.5% to 1% of the value of the race plus Goods and Services Tax (GST).

Example:
Type Group 3
Race Value $150,000
19 Acceptances (16 final starters and 3 scratchings)
Acceptance fee =
0.75% of 150,000 = 1125 +112.50 GST = $1237.50
The amount of $1237.50 will be charged to the owner(s) of each runner.

For horses that finish in the first 8 race positions, the $1237.50 Acceptance fee will be deducted from the prizemoney total.

For horses that finish 9 to last, the $1237.50 will be charged via an invoice to the Managing Owner.

Fees for horses that are scratched from a Group or Listed Race

Should the scratching be accompanied by a veterinary certificate, the acceptance fee charge will be removed (i.e. there is no charge for this type of scratching).  However, if the horse is scratched without a veterinary certificate then a scratching fee equal to the Acceptance fee will be charged to the Trainer’s account, for example a $1237.50 scratching fee.
Information for Owners - Access Fee
What is the fee?

The charge is classified as an Access Fee. Access fees have been in place at most Victorian training venues for a number of years. 

The purpose of the fee is to ensure clubs can maintain their training tracks and re-invest back into training facilities through new projects and initiatives for the betterment of the club’s trainers, participants and owners.

Where does the money go?

Funds derived from the new Access Fees will be invested back into the facilities at your training venue.

How much is the fee?

• Racing Victoria on behalf of the Club will charge owners directly for the Access Fee.
• Racing Victoria on behalf of the Club will deduct the access fee off prizemoney earned for every starter
• No charge will be payable for horses that don’t earn prizemoney (>10 at professional meetings, or finish >8 at picnics)
• No charge will be payable for horses until they race and earn prizemoney (other venues charge their Access Fee every day the horse uses the facility, even if it doesn’t race for the campaign)

Is there a maximum charge per month?

There is not a maximum charge per month. The charge will depend on how many times a horse starts per month, and if that horse earned prizemoney.

Background Information

In consultation with Racing Victoria this is the first time the Access Fee has been charged through the stakes system. The fee is normally charged to the trainer, and the trainer will most definitely pass on the cost to the owner, either incorporated in the training fees, or as a separate item, ‘track access fee’ or ‘track maintenance fee’.  

It should be noted that both the ATA and TROA were consulted as part of the process.

For further information please contact: Owners Customer Service  1300 139 412
Update your Banking Details
Click here to update your Banking Details.
Please note
*Swab pay dates subject to late changes during carnival periods. Only cleared swabs paid on these dates.

T: 03 9258 4258

E: stakespayment@racingvictoria.net.au
  • Prize money will be paid each Thursday with funds available for participants on Friday mornings.
  • Payment will be made for prize money earned from Monday to Sunday in the week prior;
  • Earnings on Monday 1st to Sunday 7th = Paid on Thursday 11th
  • Earnings on Monday 8th to Sunday  15th = Paid on Thursday 18th
  • Meetings within the weekly payment cycle may vary for dates bordering the month’s end 
  • Prize money earned in races less than $100,000 will not be held pending swab clearance