The Australian Racing Hall of Fame honours individuals and horses who have made an outstanding contribution to Australian thoroughbred horse racing. Induction into the Hall of Fame is the highest accolade of our sport.  It is more than an award; it is entrée into an elite group of history makers and a fitting tribute to the champions of our sport.

Inaugurated by the Australian Racing Museum in 2001, and supported by Racing Australia, the Hall of Fame biennially inducts new members to the four categories at racing’s core: horses, trainers, jockeys, and associates. 

The Australian Racing Museum welcomes the inductees of 2021 to the Australian Racing Hall of Fame:

The distinguished career of racing administrator Robert ‘Bob’ Charley AO will be outlined during his induction. Charley’s industry involvement has included trainer, owner, breeder, punter, commentator, magazine publisher, historian and advocate of A.B. ‘Banjo’ Patterson. He was also Chairman of the Australian Racing Hall of Fame from 2011-2018. 

Fellow outstanding industry contributor John Messara AM will also be inducted acknowledging his impressive contribution to Australian racing, particularly through breeding with the world class Arrowfield Stud which has stood some of the greatest stallions of their time including Danehill, Redoute’s Choice and Snitzel.

Veteran Sydney trainer Leslie ‘Les’ Bridge has collected many major victories during his 60- year career, including The Everest last year with Classique Legend. Bridge’s honour will coincide with the induction of the late Guy Walter, who trained more than 1300 winners from his Sydney stable, including Tie the Knot. 

Tie the Knot, a 13-time Group 1 winner who claimed stakes races from 1200m to 3200m, will be inducted, as will fellow champion gallopers Beau Vite (31 race wins, including two Mackinnon Stakes and two Cox Plates), Red Anchor (winner of the Caulfield Guineas, Cox Plate and Victoria Derby in his 3YO season, named Australian champion racehorse in 1984- 85) and Sailor’s Guide (won the Queen Elizabeth Stakes, won five races in America – only the second Australian horse, after Phar Lap, to win in the US). 

The remarkable life of the late Richard ‘Darby’ McCarthy OAM will also be recognised. The career of Australia’s most celebrated indigenous rider spanned three decades and saw him compete at the highest level in Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne and internationally, and ultimately being awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia for services to racing. Three-time Melbourne Cup-winning jockey William ‘Bill’ McLachlan, affectionately known as ‘Midget’, will also be inducted, joining his great grandson trainer Lee Freedman who was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2003.

The Australian Racing Hall of Fame is proudly displayed in the Australian Racing Museum’s permanent exhibition, the Horses Racing Gallery, in the Australian Sports Museum at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.