Tulloch was named after the Scottish town where the owner's mother was born. Around the stables he was known as "Little Joe".




RACE RECORD/STAKE MONEY: 53 starts: 36 wins, 12 seconds, 4 thirds/£110,123

Major Wins 

  • VRC, AJC, QTC Sires' Produce Stakes
  • VRC, AJC,QTC Derbies
  • VRC and AJC St Legers
  • Rosehill and Caulfield Guineas
  • Caulfield Cup
  • Brisbane Cup
  • W.S. Cox Plate


Tulloch had an inauspicious start as a racehorse. He was purchased by trainer Tommy Smith for 750 guineas at the 1956 New Zealand yearling sales. He was sway-backed and small; just 15.2 hands when fully grown, which prompted owner, E.A. Haley to comment: "He's small, but if he's no good we can use him to round up sheep".

Despite his unprepossessing stature Tulloch had a fine record as a two-year-old, with seven wins and six seconds from 13 starts. As a three-year-old he was almost invincible, winning 14 races, often in record time, including the AJC, Victorian and Queensland Derbies, the Rosehill and Caulfield Guineas, and the Caulfield Cup. Trainer Smith believed that Tulloch was a "good thing" for the Melbourne Cup, but owner Haley declined to start him in the belief that the Cup was too arduous an event for a young horse.

After five further wins in the autumn of 1958 Tulloch was struck down by an acute stomach ailment which put him out of action for nearly two years. Tommy Smith said: "He spent 22 months lying against a wall. I thought he'd die for sure". In his comeback race in the 1960 Queen's Plate at Flemington he faced the Victorian champion, Lord. Together they ran stride for stride down the straight, with Tulloch pulling away to win by a short head on the post to the deafening cheers from the crowd.

At the age of five and six he put together a further 15 wins including the W.S. Cox Plate, L.K.S. Mackinnon Stakes, Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the Brisbane Cup. The only unplaced run in his career was seventh in the 1960 Melbourne Cup when he carried 10st 1lbs (64kg).

Tulloch was an inaugural inductee into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame in 2001.

Image Source: Victorian Racing Club Collection